Law enforcement kicks off Distracted Driving Awareness Month with extra patrols statewide | News2 min read
SPOKANE, Wash. – April is Distracted Driving Awareness Thirty day period, and law enforcement agencies across the point out will start off conducting emphasis patrols on Monday.
When the Washington Targeted visitors Protection Commission’s once-a-year distracted driving study identified a drop in incidences, from 2020’s 9.4% to 6.9% in 2021, authorities wants to maintain that downward development likely.
“The decline in distracted motorists gives us a thing to cheer as we kick-off distracted driving thirty day period,” reported Erika Mascorro, WTSC Method Supervisor for Distrcted Driving. “Viewing far more folks focused on driving is determination to get all of us off the cellular phone when we’re on the street.”
And distractions aren’t just constrained to phones. Ingesting, rowdy youngsters, altering the station, or animals are just some of the factors that can seize a driver’s focus absent from the road. Study demonstrates that when distracted, it usually takes practically 30 seconds for drivers to refocus on the street. And as anybody who has been in an accident can attest, it can take significantly much less time than that for the worst to happen.
Considering that the 2017 legislature prohibiting handheld cell cellular phone use even though driving was passed, deaths from E-DUI has dropped 40% by 2020. However, troopers wrote 11,890 E-DUI tickets statewide in 2021.
“People help save lives when they transform off their phones ahead of they commence their autos,” explained Mascorro. “Make concentrated driving a behavior by placing your cellular phone in the glove box, by getting 10 minutes right before you generate to capture up on cellphone calls or textual content messages, or by location up new music or navigation in advance of you drive. We can refuse, like most Washington motorists, to let our telephones endanger our lives.”
From April 4-11, more patrols will focus on getting motorists with consideration directed away from the highway, employing additional “spotters” on foot at intersections and other spots where by drivers generally get distracted. With a citation for a 1st offense of $136 and a next offense costing a significant $234, law enforcement is hoping this will stimulate folks to push safely and securely and shell out interest.
“Our hope is that all Washington drivers will decide on to place emphasis initially. Distracted Driving Recognition month is a excellent time to start off a lifelong routine of putting your cellular phone absent right before you generate,” Mascorro stated.